Alien Towers and This Ain’t Southern California Weather!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hola!

Week number two in the MTC!

O my goodness! It has been amazing here!!! I am learning so much and so quickly!!! It’s getting easier and easier to wake up at 6:30 am. every morning and definitely a lot easier to fall asleep at 10:30 pm., basically as soon as my head hits the pillow.

The weather is so crazy here!!! Every night this past week during language study, there has been a torrential downpour accompanied by lightning and thunder. And the clap of thunder is so loud that every time it strikes, some “Hermanas” somewhere in the building scream (or at least I hope its “Hermanas” and not Elders) haha! And it is almost simultaneously timed with lightning so we know that the lightning is hitting really close. And even on nights when it is calm in the skies, we still hear loud booms because the Catholic churches are always setting off fireworks in celebration of something. At least that’s what they tell us. The CCM President made a joke advising us to not worry. He said that there isn’t a war going on, just fireworks. So most nights you either fall asleep to rolling thunder or booming fireworks in the distance.

And there is no problem getting up in the morning because every single morning everybody is woken up by the crazy Mexico City traffic. People here sure love to use their horns and sure love to wake the missionaries up bright and early. It’s quite a place! Also, in one of my pictures this week, I photographed these weird pillars just outside the wall of the CCM. Nobody knows what those are, but many missionaries have their ideas regarding what they could be. One said it was the legs of an alien ship that broke off or that they are nests for giant birds, but nobody really knows.

The other thing that I realized this week is that the CCM is huge!!! There are over 90 acres of property here!!! It’s pretty awesome. I know this because during language study one day we took a walk around the perimeter and saw everything.

The language is coming along nicely; we are teaching two practice investigators now, one in the morning and one in the evening. The food is agreeing with my stomach more and more, but not quite all the way yet. I am getting more and more excited and anxious to get out into the field and start teaching what I have learned. I can’t wait to teach real people this wonderful gospel and see how it affects their lives. We had an amazing devotional this week with Elder Paul B. Pieper and he talked about the need to get to know the local members in the area we are assigned and really bond with them. I’m extremely excited to do that! I have four more weeks though so I have to be patient.

Nothing is very stressful here because of how well I was prepared to serve a mission. For that I thank my parents, Young Men’s leaders, Bishops, and everybody who has helped me get to where I am now. I know this church is true. I’m so grateful to be on a mission. I miss you all and can’t wait to tell you more stories. Hasta Luego!!

Elder Neser

Leave a Reply

