It is freezing in the “South”!!

Hello:

It’s beginning to look a lot like winter! This week, I’m going to first talk about the weather a little bit. Whoever thinks it doesn’t get cold in the south in the winter is very wrong! It’s freezing here – ha! Temperature-wise it isn’t all that horrible -it’s like in the 30’s and 40’s. But the problem is the humidity. The humid cold chills you right down to the bone – its crazy! I have never felt anything like it before.

But regardless of the weather, missionary work goes on and this week was a great one. I have a few experiences that I would like to share with you. Earlier this week, my companion and I ran into a man who works as a Sam’s Club cashier and he was quite an amazing guy. He saw us in Walmart from behind before we saw him and he yelled: “Now there go some real salesmen!” Everybody in the store turned and looked because he said it so loudly and when we turned, we realized that he was talking to us. So we went up to him and talked to him for a while and he was so interesting and so happy about everything in life! When we heard him speak, we were immediately in a happy mood. His voice and the way he talked reminded me of someone singing the song “Zippity-doo-da.” And after talking to this guy for a while and learning that he was a preacher at one point, an African American history buff and an artist, we gave him a Book of Mormon and before we could even ask if we could come over, he invited us over to talk with him in his home. He was a great contact and he was a really great guy! I’m looking forward to learning more about him.

Also this week, we had another great appointment with a guy named Sergio, who lives in the really modest home. I spoke about him a few weeks back. He is so filled with the spirit and already has such a strong testimony of the gospel. The other day we went over to see him and we presented a great lesson on the Plan of Salvation and the role of temples. He got so excited when we started talking about temples and family history work that he asked us when he could go to the temple for his family because he wants to do temple ordinance work for them right now. He has a baptismal date set and is working really hard to be in a strong enough state to be baptized because he is recovering from cancer treatment and it makes him really weak. But he is such a testimony builder to me. Through all the adversity that he is experiencing in his life, he knows there is a God, and he knows that God’s true church is on the earth today. I know those things too! Everything denotes there is a God and this is his church! I wouldn’t be here doing the things that I am doing if it wasn’t so!

I’m so grateful for the amazing experiences I’m having and so grateful for all the amazing people here. One other quick experience this week is that my companion and I, along with the other elders in the branch where I am serving as well as two addtional elders were taken by the AP’s (Assistants to the President) to the highest point in Alabama! There are pictures of that. I had a great week and I love and miss everybody back home!

Love,

Elder Neser

Leave a Reply

