Spring has sprung in Alabama!

Hello:

Spring has sprung in Decatur Alabama! We had a tremendous week this last week because spring has officially come to Alabama once again. My companion was feeling a little under the weather at the beginning of the week, so we did not get out much on P-day, but when we left our apartment on Tuesday morning we couldn’t believe our eyes. Flowers were in bloom and there were fields and fields of endless green grass that just the previous week had been dead. Spring in the “South” is an amazing thing!

In other news, we had a pretty funny experience this past week. My companion and I were walking around town and because of the good weather there are a lot more people out and about. So we came across a group of guys playing some street basketball. Immediately upon seeing them, I turned to my companion and said, “lets go ball up with those guys!” So we ran over and introduced ourselves and challenged them to a game of basketball. Now in my head, I remembered the video my dad showed me once of some missionaries playing “two on two” basketball with some random guys and dunking all over them and I thought to myself, “that’s what we are going to do!” Well, it didn’t exactly work like that –ha! In fact, we were decisively outplayed and they were dunking the ball on us. But they felt bad enough for us that they let us teach them a lesson and come back for a return appointment! So maybe it was a good thing that we played so poorly. We probably won’t be a YouTube sensation any time soon, but we will hopefully be able to teach these guys again soon.

This week I also heard a cool story I would like to share. The story tells of a Southern farmwoman who is a loving wife and mother to her family. For many years she would slave over meals and cleaning the house and never hear a peep of appreciation from any of her many boys and husband that worked out on the farm all day. So one day, instead of preparing a delicious meal for dinner as she normally would, she threw down before them a heaping plate of hay. Cries and complaints came from every individual sitting at the table and she responded with this: “I wasn’t sure you’d even notice. I’ve been cooking for you men for the last twenty years and in all that time, I haven’t heard a single word to let me know you weren’t just eating hay for dinner.” There are two purposes behind this story. Purpose number one is to take this opportunity to thank my amazing mother for all the wonderful meals she has provided for me over the years and purpose number two is to highlight the importance of appreciation! How do we show love for others and show them how important they are to us – through expression of sincere appreciation! How do we extinguish personal pride and enmity for others? Gratitude and sincere appreciation! How do we get others to enjoy our company and want to spend time with us? By being “hearty in our approbation and lavish in our praise”. I appreciate all of you and all that you have done for me. Some day, I hope to find the opportunity to personally show my appreciation to all the people who have had an impact on my life, but for now you know whom you are and I appreciate you! Until next week!

With love,

Elder Neser

Leave a Reply

