The Parable of the Sower

Hello:

O, what a happy Easter week it has been! What a wonderful time of year this is to remember our Lord and Savior and the sacrifice that he made for us, as well as hear the words of modern day prophets, seers and revelators this past week at “General Conference.” I am so grateful for the opportunity that I have to learn and grow from all the inspiring words that were spoken at conference.

One of my favorite talks this past week was by Elder Dallin H. Oaks who spoke about the “Parable of the Sower.” This was especially interesting to me because I had just finished studying the chapter in Jesus the Christ by James Talmage the previous day that speaks about the Parable of the Sower. In Jesus the Christ, Talmage tells us that another name for that parable is the Parable of the Four Soils, which Elder Oaks went into depth explaining. I just really liked how he got on us a little about striving harder to be the good soil, the soil that gives place for the seed and allows it to grow strong roots, bringing forth much fruit. We need to figure out if our lives are represented by the hard or thorny soil and we might not even be aware of it!

As a missionary, I am striving to apply the principles he taught in the following ways. We have countless meetings as missionaries – district meetings, zone trainings, zone conferences, church meeting, etc. and often I might not concentrate on what is being said because . . . well frankly, I am on meeting overload! But by doing that, I have become hard ground, not fertile soil that doesn’t allow roots of the gospel to form and when the sun comes out my plant is scorched and the knowledge I could have gained is lost. I am striving to always come out of a meeting with something learned, even every sacrament meeting! Also, I am striving to be less prideful while listening to speakers in meetings. Sometimes I think to myself, this missionary that is speaking has been on his mission less time than I have or I am way smarter than him – I can’t learn anything from this person. That kind of thinking is the thinking that will get me nowhere in life! I love this quote by Emerson: “In my walks, every man I meet is my superior in some way, and in that I learn from him.” I need to keep this in the forefront of my mind so that metaphorically I am not the thorny ground that chokes the plant that grows or in other words the person who refuses to learn and grow spiritually because of my pride.

Again, I am so grateful for the tremendous week we have had this past week in remembering the resurrection of our Savior. He lives! I hope you all had a wonderful week too and have a wonderful week this week.

With much love,

Elder Neser

Leave a Reply

