Let It Snow and The Temple

Hello:

This was another tremendous week!! It was a little crazy with the weather though. On Friday of this last week, my companion and I drove up to Locust Fork and attended a District Meeting with the missionaries in that area. When the meeting was over and we went outside, there were snowflakes falling. Right then, I was hoping for another occurrence similar to what happened in Decatur last year – in one day there was 8 inches of snow dumped on us! So we jumped in our car and raced back to Birmingham as fast as we could before the snow had the opportunity to stick to the road. By the time we got back in Birmingham, the snow was really coming down and so we decided to stop in somewhere to grab something to eat and watch the snow falling. On the TV in the restaurant we saw that the Northeast was getting blasted with snow and again I somewhat hoped for a lot of snow to come our way as well. Unfortunately, the storm died down after a while and none of it stuck to the road very much. I was still able to make a kind of “slush ball” and throw it at another missionary, so that was fun!

The next day, after all the bad weather we had, I was able to participate in one of the most awesome events on my mission! About a year ago, there was a family that was baptized into the Altadena Spanish branch (my first area) that I helped teach. This past weekend, they were able to go through the temple and be sealed as a family forever and I was able to be there for it! It was so amazing to see these people who I taught, and who at one point in time weren’t members of the church, be sealed together with their two children for all time and eternity. Elder Ruano (my previous companion) was there and he made the funny comment that even though we had both been members of the church for over a decade more than this family, they were actually closer to exaltation than we were – ha! I am so grateful for the restored Gospel and the knowledge we now have that families can be together forever. I am so grateful for temples and I am so grateful to have covenant-keeping parents who sealed our family together 25 years ago in a temple. I am excited to go to the temple and do the same thing for my family someday with one of our Heavenly Father’s beautiful daughters! I love and miss everybody back home and hope you have a wonderful week!

Love,

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

