Faith is a principle of action!

Hello:

This has been a really great week!! We had transfers and I got a new companion named Elder Wheatley. I am super excited to serve with him because we have been around each other in the past and get along really well. My last companion, Elder Arrington, was the second oldest missionary in the mission at 24 and my new companion is the oldest and tops him by a few months. The Lord is putting me with all the old guys and I love it!

I had one small faith building moment that I would like to share this week. On Friday, Elder Wheatley and I went to a district meeting that was on the other side of the city of Birmingham. On our way to the meeting, we made a stop at our stake center because I had forgotten to grab my scriptures after an activity that we had there this past week. We got into the parking lot and I realized that I did not have any key to get into the building nor was there anybody even close that could open it for us. I really needed my scriptures for the meeting though. So my companion parked the car and looked at me and said, “Elder, do you have the faith that one of the doors of this building is open?”

I looked at him and I said, “There is no way that there are any doors open any where in this building. They are really good about always keeping it locked up.” After I said that, he immediately got out of the car and walked right up to the front door of the building. He paused for a moment after grabbing the handle to the door and then he pulled the handle and the door swung open!!

He calmly turned and looked at me as though he wasn’t surprised and jokingly said, “I told you!” I was very happy to be proven wrong that day because I was able to use my scriptures in the meeting we attended. Elder Bednar in a recent training for missionaries said, “Faith is a principle of action.” That is so true! I have seen on my mission an unbelievable amount of times when action has strengthened my faith and faith has driven me to act. The two are so intertwined and so important to have together. Like James says, “faith without works is dead.” Having faith and working or acting has shaped me into the person that I am today and brings me closer to be the best disciple of Christ that I can be! I love and miss everybody back home and hope that you have a great week!

Love,

Elder Neser

Leave a Reply

