Contacting in Wal-Mart!

Hello:

It is hot!! We are experiencing some amazing weather here in Alabama right now!! Yesterday and today it has been in the 70’s and it is supposed to be like that all week. Hooray!! Winter is over!! (knock on wood)

We had a great week! At the beginning of every month, we meet as a zone and talk about how to improve the way we do missionary work. It is always a very fun meeting and a time when I learn many new things. This past week we attended one of these meetings and then afterwards we went on an exchange with the Elders that are serving in “Sylacauga” and I had an awesome experience while on the exchange. That night we were in Birmingham and we went around and tried to contact a number of media referrals that we had received from church headquarters. Unfortunately, we didn’t have much luck because there weren’t too many people home. So what do missionaries do when all their plans fall through? They find! Where do they find? Wal-Mart! So we went to Wal-Mart. While walking through the food aisles trying to talk to people, I mentioned to the Elder I was on exchanges with that it was the Easter season and that meant that Cadbury Chocolate Eggs would be on sale. He commented back to me that he had never heard of them! Wanting to show him the greater light, we walked all the way across the store to the seasonal section where I showed him what Cadbury eggs were. When we were just about done coveting the eggs, a man and his wife walked up to the two of us and asked if we were Mormon missionaries. We said yes and he then told us that he was a member and asked us where the church was in the area. After giving him directions, we asked if he had just moved here or was just visiting. He said it was neither and that he had lived in Birmingham for almost 3 years, but had never attended our ward. We asked him how long he had been a member and he said his whole life. We then asked him where he and his wife were from and he said “Sylacauga!” My temporary companion and this man started talking and my companion discovered he knew all of his family. We then turned to his wife and asked how long she had been a member and she said that she wasn’t. We both paused looked at each other and then I looked back and said, “Hi, we are the missionaries!” They both laughed and then we got their information and set up a time to see them this week.

What a miracle it was to have an Elder from Sylacauga with me in Birmingham that day and for us to meet that couple. I learned a great quote early on in my mission: “Coincidence is God’s way of remaining anonymous.” That is so true! That experience is a testimony builder for me because it is yet another time I have seen God’s hand move missionary work forward. I am so grateful for all the tender mercies of the Lord that I have experienced on my mission. I love and miss everyone back home and hope you have a great week.

Love,

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

