Treasures in Heaven

Hello:

I had a great week! We had transfers and although neither my companion nor I moved, there were still some big changes. For a long time there have been two sets of Elders in the ward I am serving in, but this last transfer they replaced the other set of Elders in this ward with sisters. The ward is super excited because they haven’t had sisters in a very long time. My companion and I are excited for the change as well!

This last week I also saw a great former companion of mine go home! I was sad to see him go, but I am so grateful for the relationship we had and the great times together. The day after transfers, I opened my journal during morning studies and went back and read a few entries from when we were companions. As I read, I remembered those great times and all the other relationships we made as companions. It brought to mind a thought I had while reading in Helaman 5:8 (Book of Mormon) a few days before that I would like to share. Specifically, I thought about this part of the scripture that is often repeated: “…that ye may do these things to lay up for yourselves a treasure in heaven, yea, which is eternal, and which fadeth not away.”  When I read that scripture, I thought: what does this scripture mean by a treasure in heaven? After thinking about it further I realized that there are only a few things we can take with us when we die, namely, our knowledge and our relationships. Therefore, a way that we can “lay up for [ourselves] a treasure in heaven” is by gaining knowledge and building lasting relationships.

Wanting to have lasting relationships really motivates me to go out and do missionary work! By inviting and helping bring someone closer to Christ through His gospel, I can help to qualify them for salvation and exaltation and build a relationship with them. That relationship then becomes a treasure that lays waiting for me in the life to come when someday we will bump into each other in the celestial kingdom and will rejoice to be united once again. Therefore, by doing missionary work, we literally are laying up treasures in heaven! I am so grateful for all of the lessons I am learning as a missionary. I love and miss everyone back home and hope y’all have a great week!

Love,

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

